McCarthy Tire and Automotive
Facebook Twitter RSS YouTube Flickr Pinterest Instagram

Penguins News


WILKES-BARRE, PA – Wyatt Smith has been named the 15th captain in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins history, it was announced on Wednesday by head coach Todd Reirden.  Smith was chosen by a vote of his teammates and coaching staff.

Smith, 32, has appeared in 474 career American Hockey League games with the Springfield Falcons, Milwaukee Admirals, Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Houston Aeros, Lake Erie Monsters, Norfolk Admirals, and San Antonio Rampage, recording 339 points (147+192).  He added 23 points (9+14) in 38 career Calder Cup playoff contests, and was a member of the 2004 Calder Cup Champion Milwaukee Admirals. 

Smith has also appeared in 211 NHL games with Phoenix, Nashville, NY Islanders, Minnesota, and Colorado, recording 32 points (10+22).

The native of Thief River Falls, Minnesota joined the Penguins as a free agent signing on July 31st.  Smith has appeared in all twelve Penguins games this season, and is currently tied for second on the team with eight points (2+6).

Joining Smith as alternate captains for 2009-10 are Ryan Bayda and Deryk Engelland.  Other players that will serve as alternate captains, in the event of injury or recall, are forwards Wade Brookbank and Mark Letestu, and defenseman Nate Guenin.

1999-2000    Tyler Wright, Steve Leach, John Slaney
2000-2001    John Slaney, Sven Butenschon
2001-2002    Jason MacDonald
2002-2003    Tom Kostopoulos
2003-2004    Tom Kostopoulos, Kris Beech, Patrick Boileau
2004-2005    Alain Nasreddine, Rob Scuderi
2005-2006    Alain Nasreddine
2006-2007    Micki DuPont
2007-2008    Nathan Smith
2008-2009    David Gove, Connor James
2009-2010    Wyatt Smith

40 Coal Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702 · 570-208-7367

© 2016 WBS Hockey LP. All Rights Reserved. Powered by CirrusLab