What is the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy?

What is the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy
23 Mar, 22

With a little under a month and a half left in the regular season, things will quickly start coming to a close. While no one wants to see the season come to an end, there’s plenty to look forward to around this time. Not only do you get to cheer for your favorite teams in the playoffs and wait anxiously to see who will win this year’s Calder Cup, which hasn’t been awarded since 2019, but there are many other awards that will be given out. The AHL has various awards they give to teams and individual players for significant achievements throughout the season, as well as for achievements off the ice.

One of the awards you can anticipate seeing at the end of this season is the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy. How much do you know about the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy? Here’s everything you need to know!

Who is Awarded the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy?

The Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy is awarded to the AHL team that finishes the regular season with the most points. This award was first handed out in the 1997-98 season, with the Philadelphia Phantoms being the first recipients. The most recent recipients were the Hershey Bears in the 2020-21 season.

Prior to the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy, the F.G. “Teddy” Oke Trophy was awarded to the AHL team that finished first overall. The F.G. “Teddy” Oke Trophy was first awarded in the 1926-27 season in the Canadian Professional Hockey League. It is the oldest trophy awarded in the AHL and one of the oldest sports trophies in North America. The F.G. “Teddy” Oke Trophy is still awarded today to the regular-season champion in certain divisions.

In many cases, the regular-season champion makes it to the Calder Cup, which they more often than not have won throughout the history of the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy. However, there are many seasons where the recipient of the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy doesn’t make it to the championship.

Who Was Macgregor Kilpatrick?

Macgregor Kilpatrick served in the AHL for years in several different positions. During his time with the AHL, he served as senior vice president and general counsel, as well as serving on the AHL Board of Governors for 27 years. Kilpatrick was also the original owner of the New Haven Nighthawks. He received the James C. Hendy Memorial Award in the 1975-76 season, which is awarded to the AHL executive who made the most outstanding contributions to the league and was posthumously inducted into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame in 2010.

Have the WBS Penguins Won the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy?

The WBS Penguins are no strangers to the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy. We’ve been presented with this award as regular-season champions twice, once in the 2010-11 season and then again in the 2016-17 season. We’ve also been awarded the F.G. “Teddy” Oke Trophy three times as regular-season champions in the East Division.

Don’t Miss Your Chance to Watch the Rest of the Season

While the end of the season is nearing, there are still plenty of games left. The last few weeks of the season can fly by in an instant, so be sure to get your tickets to see the Wilkes-Barre Scranton Penguins today.

White Tux


"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.