5 Fun Facts About the Calder Cup

Fun Facts About the Calder Cup WBS Penguins
1 Apr, 23

As spring gets closer, most people are looking forward to warm weather and spending more time outside. However, for hockey fans, spring also means the Calder Cup Playoffs aren’t too far away. While there’s still plenty of time before playoffs begin, you might already be looking forward to it. The Calder Cup has a long history and a few great fun facts that you might not know about.

Here are five fun facts about the Calder Cup!

#1 – The Calder Cup Was Once the Oldest Continuously-Awarded Professional Ice Hockey Playoff Trophy

Up until very recently, the Calder Cup was the oldest continuously-awarded professional hockey playoff trophy. This might be surprising to some fans who know how old the Stanley Cup is. While the Stanley Cup was first awarded in 1893, the Calder Cup has only been awarded since 1937. However, there were no playoffs in 2005 as a result of the 2004–05 NHL lockout, while the Calder Cup has been consistently awarded since its creation. This was also not the first time there was no Stanley Cup winner, as the 1919 playoffs were canceled due to the Spanish flu pandemic. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there was no Calder Cup winner in 2020 or 2021.

#2 – The Calder Cup Lists the 20 Most Recent Champions

The Calder Cup carries a little bit of AHL history, as it showcases the names of the 20 most recent winners on its base. The eight most recent winners are listed on commemorative plaques on the top tier of the trophy, while the next 12 winners are listed on the bottom tier. When a new plaque is added, the oldest is removed and put on display at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

#3 – The First Calder Cup Champions Might Not Have Received the Trophy

The Syracuse Stars were the first Calder Cup champions in 1937, winning against the Philadelphia Ramblers. However, it’s believed that they never actually got the trophy itself. This makes the Providence Reds the first team to receive the actual trophy when they won the playoffs in 1938. George Parsons, who played for the Syracuse Stars when they won in 1973, was presented with the Calder Cup in 1996.

#4 – The Calder Cup Was Named After the NHL’s First President

Elected in 1917, Frank Calder was the first president of the NHL. The Calder Cup is also not the only award named in his honor. The Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the NHL’s top rookie.

#5 – Three AHL Teams Have Won the Calder Cup the Same Year Their NHL Affiliate Won the Stanley Cup

The Calder Cup playoffs aren’t the only thing hockey fans have to look forward to. Many people tune into the Stanley Cup playoffs each year. Playoffs have been especially exciting for some fans for a handful of years. There have been three times in Calder Cup history that the AHL champion won the Calder Cup at the same time their NHL affiliate team won the Stanley Cup. The Nova Scotia Voyageurs won the Calder Cup in 1976 and 1977, coinciding with the Montreal Canadiens winning the Stanley Cup. The Albany River Rats then won the Calder Cup in 1995, while the New Jersey Devils won the Stanley Cup the same year.

Plan for the Next WBS Penguins Game Today!

Have you been able to catch a Wilkes-Barre Scranton Penguins game this season? Whether you’ve been to every home game or this will be your first, we have many great games coming up. Playoffs will be here before you know it, but you don’t want to miss any of the action leading up to it!

Get your tickets to see the WBS Penguins play today.

White Tux


"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.